Phonics and Reading

In Reception, children begin to explore letters and sounds through daily phonics session. They begin to take part in guided reading sessions  and take home reading books and this then continues throughout school. 

At Warley Town, we follow the Letters and Sounds teaching sequence and programme for phonics. This is then supplemented and enhanced with carefully selected phonic resources. 

Our main home reading scheme is Oxford Reading Tree - Floppy Phonics  and this is supplemented with other phonetically decodable texts including Songbirds, Traditional Tales, Project X and Phonics Bug.

Once children have progressed through the scheme and their reading fluency and comprehension is secure, they become 'free readers'. At this stage, they will be able to tackle longer and more complex books and we provide access to a wide range of high quality, age appropriate texts.


Letters and Sounds - A Guide to Phonics

Phonics Phase 2 - A Guide for Parents

Phonics Phase 3 - A Guide for Parents

Phonics Phase 4 - A Guide for Parents

Phonics Phase 5 - A Guide for Parents